Presston...en la nueva era de la comunicación
Español | English
The FIAMC comprises 60 national associations
The International Federation of Catholic Medical Associations (FIAMC) comprises approximately 60 national associations of Catholic physicians from throughout the world. The Federation is divided into 6 regions:

  • Africa

  • Asia (AFCMA: Asian Federation of Catholic Medical Associations)

  • Australia and New Zealand

  • Europe (FEAMC, Fédération Européenne des Associations de MédecinsCatholiques)

  • North America

  • Latin America (FAMCLAM, Federación de Asociaciones Médicas Católicas Latino-Americanas).

The mission of the FIAMC focuses on safeguarding, defending and promoting human life in different cultures. Intelligent, well-planned, generous and ongoing group work is required in each country as well as on the international level. Worldwide coordination facilitates more effective defence of the Christian commitment of thousands of medical professionals in scientific research and in practising their profession.

The aims of the FIAMC, as stated in their bylaws, can essentially be summarised as:

  1. Promote the development of Catholic medical associations in all countries to ensure that medical professionals not only achieve technical progress in their profession, but also receive moral and spiritual support.
  2. Participate in the overall development of the profession, and promote health and social action in accordance with the Teachings of the Catholic Church.

  3. Promote the study of practical and theoretical aspects of medical-ethical problems.

  4. Establish models of health cooperation and pastoral action with developing countries.

  5. Coordinate the efforts of Catholic medical associations in order to study and promote Christian thought applied to the field of health.

The current Executive Committee comprises:

  • President: Dr. Gian Luigi Gigli, (Italy)

  • Vice-President: Dr. Joon-Ki Kang (Korea)

  • General Secretary: Dr. François Blin (France)

  • Treasurer: Dr. George Isajiw (USA)

Each of the six regions represented in the FIAMC has representatives on the Executive Committee. One of the three representatives for the European Federation of Associations of Catholic Physicians (FEAMC) is the Catalan surgeon Dr. Josep Maria Simón Castellví, ex-president of the Association of Christian Physicians of Catalonia.

The current president is the 49 year-old Italian neurologist Dr. Gian Luigi Gigli, who is Chief of the Department of Neurology at the General Hospital of Udine (Italy) and also teaches at the university in this city. President of the FIAMC since 1998, when he was elected at the Congress held that year in the city of New York.

Permanent Secretariat of the FIAMC:
Palazzo San Calisto, 00120 Città del Vaticano.
Tel. +39 06 6988 7372

Jose María Simón, Interview about his election as President of the FIAMC

FIAMC elects Spanish José María Simón as new world president of the organization

The Church is the main supplier of psycho-social and spiritual health of the planet